regional resleases
county releases
enforcement activities
DUI statistics
press contacts
resource links

AVOID PROGRAM Press CONTACTS

Bay Area
California Highway Patrol
Golden Gate Division
Public Affairs Unit
Sgt Trent Cross
707-648-4180 ext 277
707-373-7892 cell
tcross@chp.ca.gov

California Highway Patrol
Golden Gate Division
Public Affairs Unit
Ofc Elon Steers
707-648-4180 ext 276
707-373-7732 cell
esteers@chp.ca.gov

North State Regional Avoid
Mony Hight
Public Information Officer
Redding Police Department
1313 California Street
Redding, California 96001
Cell: 530-945-0735
fax: 530-225-4553
mhight@reddingpolice.org
mhight@chp.ca.gov
montyhight@charter.net

South Central Valley Regional Avoid


Alameda County
Jan Ford, Public Information
Avoid the 21-Law Enforcement in Alameda County
(650) 322-9121
Cell: (650) 269-2148
janfordpr@aol.com

???Avoid the 21 was named best multi-jurisdictional campaign in 2009 by the California Law Enforcement Challenge

Butte County
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, CONTACT:
Lieutenant Gabriela Tazzari
Operations Commander Paradise Police Department
(530) 872-6249

Colusa County
Operations Commander Christian Sachs
Marysville Police Department
316 6th Street
Marysville, CA 95901

530-749-3900 dispatch
530-749-3959 direct
530-749-3990 fax
csachs@marysvillepd.org

Yuba/Sutter/Colusa Counties – AVOID the 9

Contra Costa County
Avoid the 25
Contra Costa County

Jimmy Lee
Director of Public Affairs
Contra Costa Sheriff’s Office

1980 Muir Road
Martinez, CA 94553
(925) 313-2643
jlee@so.cccounty.us

El Dorado County
Sgt Shannon Laney
South Lake Tahoe PD
El Dorado County AVOID the 6
1352 Johnson Blvd
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
slaney@cityofslt.us
(530) 542-6100

Fresno County
Calli Biaggi
Asst PIO
Clovis Police Department
1233 Fifth Street, Clovis, CA 93612
(559) 324-2532

Alfreda Sebasto,
AVOID Public Information Officer
alfreda@attglobal.net
Cell # 559-285-1237
Office #559-291-0184
Fax #559-291-0255

Glenn County
Jessica LeDay
Orland Police Department
817 Fourth St, Orland, CA 95963
(530) 865-1616
Fax (530) 865-1626
jleday@cityoforland.com

Sgt J.C. Tolle
Orland Police Department
817 Fourth St.
Orland, CA 95963
(530) 865-1616

Imperial County
Sgt. Robert Sawyer
C/O
El Centro Police Department
150 North Eleventh Street
El Centro CA 92243
Office: (760) 336-8991
rsawyer@ecpd.org

Kern County
Bakersfield Police Department
Sgt Graydon Argast Kern Avoid Coordinator
(661) 326-3836
gargast@bakersfieldpd.us


Cherie Stephen
Assistant Coordinator
Kern Avoid Program
(661) 326-3938
cstephen@bakersfieldpd.us

Kings County
Sgt Brian Winter
& Ofc Jon Pree
Visalia Police Department
303 S Johnson
Visalia CA 93291
(559) 713-4232
(559)713-4237
jpree@ci.visalia.ca.us

Los Angeles County
Avoid the 100
Sr. CSO Wendy Brewer
Glendora Police Department
150 S. Glendora Avenue
Glendora, CA 91741
(626) 852-4826
wbrewer@glendorapd.org

Avoid the 100
Inv. Victor Gomez
Gardena Police Department
1700 West 162nd Street
Gardena, CA 90247
(310) 925-0111
vgomez@gardenapd.org

Marin County
Margo Rohrbacher, PIO
San Rafael Police Department
(415) 485-3045 or
(415) 485-3000
margo.rohrbacher@srpd.org

Merced County
Sergeant Jacob Struble
Merced Police Department
209-385-4739 office
209-564-2160 cell
strublej@cityofmerced.org

Merced Police Department
Lance Eber
611 W. 22nd Street
Merced Police Department
(209) 385-4701

Jeff Gonzales
Merced Police Department
611 W. 22nd Street
Merced, CA 95340
209-388-7733 voice mail
209-385-6912 dispatch
209-385-4785 fax
gonzalesj@cityofmerced.org

Monterey County
Jan Ford, Public Information
Avoid the 18-Law Enforcement in Monterey County
(650) 322-9121
Mobile (650) 269-2148
janfordpr@aol.com

Avoid the 18 took second place in the multi-jurisdictional category in 2010 for the California Law Enforcement Challenge.

Napa County
Avoid the 9
Napa Police Dept
Sgt. Paul Paniagua
1539 First Street
Napa, CA 94558
(707) 257-9438
ppaniagua@cityofnapa.org

or

John Kostelac
Traffic Coordinator
(707) 257-9569
jkostelac@cityofnapa.org

Nevada County
Sergeant Steve Johnson
Grass Valley Police Department
129 S. Auburn Street
Grass Valley, CA. 95945
(530) 477-4600
sjohnson@gvpd.net

Orange County
Avoid the 28-Orange County
Sgt. Rick Martinez
Anaheim Police Dept. Press Information Officer
Anaheim Police Dept.
714 765-1521
rmartinez@anaheim.net

Avoid the 12 – Orange County
Dep. Wayne Howard
Orange County Sheriff’s Department
Traffic Bureau
949-425-1862
whoward@ocsd.org

Placer County
Officer Todd Rayback
Lincoln Police Department
640 5th Street
Lincoln, CA 95648
(916) 645-5150
trayback@ci.lincoln.ca.us

Lou Costanza
tmdgroup, Inc
Public Outreach
(916) 487-5109
lcostanza@tmdgroup.net

Riverside County
Sgt. Skip Showalter
Riverside Police Department
8181 Lincoln Ave
Riverside CA 92504
951-351-6046
sshowalter@riversideca.gov
www.Avoidthe30.org

Sacramento County
Officer William Gregersen
Citrus Heights Police Dept
6315 Fountain Square Drive
Citrus Heights, CA 95621
916-727-5843
wgregersen@citusheights.net

Lou Costanza
tmdgroup, Inc.
Public Outreach
(916) 487-5109
lcostanza@tmdgroup.net

San Bernardino County
AVOID the 25 Regional Coordinator

Sgt. Matthew Schilling
San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Dept.
Public Affairs Division
655 East 3rd Street, San Bernardino, CA 92415
(909) 387-3700
Email: mschilling@sbcsd.org

San Diego County
San Diego County Sheriff’s Department
Lieutenant Jose Sanchez
Traffic Services
P.O. Box 939062
San Diego, CA 92193-9062
(858) 974-2089
(619) 818-4725
jose.sanchez@sdsheriff.org

San Francisco County
Jan Ford, Public Information
Avoid the 8-Law Enforcement in San Francisco
(650) 322-9121
Mobile (650) 269-2148
janfordpr@aol.com

Avoid the 8 took first place in the multi-jurisdictional category in the 2010 and 2011 California Law Enforcement Challenge.

San Joaquin County
Stockton Police Department
Joseph Silva, PIO
22 E Market St.
Stockton, CA 95202
(209) 937-8209
joseph.silva@stocktongov.com

San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande Police Department
Commander Chuck Gerhart
Avoid the 14
(805) 473-5122
e-mail cgerhart@arroyogrande

Senior Officer Mike Smiley
(805) 473-5100
, msmiley@arroyogrande.org

San Mateo County
David Mackriss
Sergeant
Daly City Police Department
Avoid the 23
333 90th Street
Daly City, CA 94015
(650) 991-8183
dmackriss@dalycity.org

Santa Barbara County
Santa Barbara County
AVOID the 12

Santa Barbara County Sheriff’s Office
Sgt. Kevin Huddle
4434 Calle Real
Santa Barbara, CA 93110
(805) 961-7516
klh2765@sbsheriff.org

Santa Clara County
Press Contact for Santa Clara County Avoid the 13 is Sergeant Troy Smith 408-808-4905

Santa Cruz County
Captain Brian Martin – Capitola Police Department
(831) 475-4242
bmartin@ci.capitola.ca.us

Shasta County
Monty Hight
Public Information Officer
Coordinator
2485 Sonoma Street
Redding, California 96001
(530)225-2715
Cell (530)945-0735
mhight@chp.ca.gov
montyhight@charter.net

Siskiyou County
AVOID the 8 – SISKIYOU COUNTY
Captain John E. Villani
Siskiyou County Sheriff’s Department
311 Lane St.
Yreka, CA 96097

(530) 841-2900 (Dispatch)
(530) 842-8152 (Office)

john.villani @co.sisqjustice.ca.us

Solano County
Corporal Kevin Hamrick
Vallejo Police Department
(707) 649-3569
khamrick@ci.vallejo.ca.us

Lou Costanza
tmdgroup, Inc.
Public Outreach
(916) 487-5109
lcostanza@tmdgroup.net

Sonoma County
Sergeant Ken Savano
Petaluma Police Department
Special Operations – Traffic Team
969 Petaluma Blvd North
Petaluma CA 94952
707.778.4596 office
707.778.4304 fax
707.481.3567 mobile
ksavano@ci.petaluma.ca.us

Stanislaus County
Sergeant Nino Amirfar
Turlock Police Department
Office of Professional Standards
Media Relations Manager
Office: (209) 668-5550 ext. 6618
Cell: (209) 678-6286
namirfar@turlock.ca.us


Officer Cristina Magana
Turlock Police Department
Office of Professional Standards
Media Relations Officer
Office: (209) 668-5550 ext. 6670
Cell: (209) 678-5660
cmagana@turlock.ca.us


Sergeant Robert Lugo
Turlock Police Department
Traffic Unit Supervisor
Office: (209) 668-5550 ext. 6630
Cell: (209) 678-6279
rlugo@turlock.ca.us

Sutter County
Operations Commander Christian Sachs
Marysville Police Department
316 6th Street
Marysville, CA 95901

530-749-3900 dispatch
530-749-3959 direct
530-749-3990 fax
csachs@marysvillepd.org

Yuba/Sutter/Colusa Counties – AVOID the 9

Tulare County
Sgt Chris McLain
Visalia Police Department
303 S Johnson
Visalia CA 93291
(559) 713-4232
(559)713-4237

Officer Jason Logas
Visalia Police Department
303 S. Johnson St
Visalia, CA 93291
(559) 713-4233
(559) 713-4237
jlogas@ci.visalia.ca.us

Ventura County
Jan Ford, Public Information
Avoid the 14-Law Enforcement in Ventura County
(650) 322-9121
Mobile (650) 269-2148
janfordpr@aol.com

Yolo County
Sergeant Tom Davis
Woodland Police Department
1000 Lincoln Ave
Woodland, CA 95688
(530) 661-7880
tom.davis@cityofwoodland.org

or

Sergeant Steve Guthrie (PIO)
Woodand Police Department
1000 Lincoln Ave
Woodland, CA 95688
steven.guthrie@cityofwoodland.org

Yuba County
Operations Commander Christian S. Sachs
Marysville Police Department
316 6th Street
Marysville, CA 95901

530-749-3900 dispatch
530-749-3959 direct
530-749-3990 fax
csachs@marysvillepd.org

Yuba/Sutter/Colusa Counties – AVOID the 9

 

Skip to main contentSkip to toolbar Dashboard Home Updates 2 Posts All Posts Add New Categories Tags Media Library Add New Pages All Pages Add New Comments Appearance Themes Customize Widgets Menus Editor Plugins 1 Installed Plugins Add New Editor Users All Users Add New Your Profile Tools Available Tools Import Export Settings General Writing Reading Discussion Media Permalinks Collapse menu About WordPress californiaavoid.org 21 WordPress Update, 1 Plugin Update 00 comments awaiting moderation New Howdy, admin1 Log Out Help WordPress 4.6.1 is available! Please update now. Edit Themes WMD Theme: Theme Footer (footer.php) Select theme to edit: Select Templates Theme Footer (footer.php) Theme Functions (functions.php) Theme Header (header.php) Main Index Template (index.php) No Header Footer Page Template (no-header-footer.php) Styles Stylesheet (style.css)
AVOID Home About the AVOID Program Press Room Contact AVOID County Support Log-In ©2005 Office of Traffic Safety
Funding for the Avoid program and maintenance for the website is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and SR22 Insurance
Documentation: Look Up Update File Thank you for creating with WordPress. Get Version 4.6.1